The sixth time: Godfrey wins the British Rallycross

  13 November 2019

For fans of original motorsports the British Rallycross was a real highlight this season! After a close head-to-head duel with the challenger a merciless Julian Godfrey secured the sixth victory of the Championships. Derek Tohill was the first to cross the finish line in the finale lap and in the overall standings he managed a proud second place in the championship class.

Even in the half time of the 8-part racing series, the two favourites were still level on points. In the course of the race the experienced Godfrey remembered his strengths and extended his lead. Since nothing is certain in Rallycross, the final laps couldn't have been more exciting. The multiple winner in his Ford Fiesta secured first place in the championships in Croft, England, with a two-point advantage.
“I knew I just had to finish second, I pulled a bit of a gap from Steve (Hill) behind and just concentrated on getting to the end with no mistakes to take the Championship. It’s been a good close season, I’m really pleased”, said Godfrey.

The series itself is motorsports at its best. Unrelenting conditions, the hard race tracks in Croft as well as at the other tracks and above all the driving skills of the drivers attracted thousands of spectators. Due to the low entry fees and different classes, almost every motorsport enthusiast can take part in the Championships. The spectators are offered a special spectacle, because the race tracks are quite short and therefore easy to overlook. To conquer the terrain you need good pilots and optimal equipment. Toyo Tires is therefore active in several countries as a partner for Rallycross motorsport. 
At the Supernationals the winner Tristan Ovenden dominated the season in his Renault Clio V6 and marched through the season with eight wins in a row. The decision in the UK Junior class was much tighter, with Luke Constantine winning one point ahead of Patrick O'Donovan.

Tom Constantine catapulted himself from favourite number four to the first socket of the podium of the Swift Sport class. The three in front of him were all eliminated due to driving errors or forced into the rear positions. Only Rallycross is so unpredictable.

In the other categories Rallycross150 pilot Chrissy Palmer was happy about the title, in Retro Rallycross Gary Simpson remained undefeated in first place.

We are looking forward to the championships in the season 2020.

The British Rallycross Championships offered hot action in all weather conditions.